The Patient from Silvertree (Silvertree #1) by Marian Dribus – (ARC) Review

The Patient from Silvertree: Book One in the Silvertree Series by [Marian Dribus]

The Patient from Silvertree (Silvertree #1) by Marian Dribus – (ARC) Review

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Thank you to the author/publisher for providing me with an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

//TW: death, mention of suicide, murder, kidnapping//

~Quick Statistics~

Overall: 4.5/5 Stars

Plot: 5/5 Stars

Setting: 4/5 Stars

Characters: 4/5 Stars

Writing: 5/5 Stars

Memorability: 4/5 Stars

~Quick Review~

The author reached out to me, and I am so glad she did.  I have always loved mystery novels, and The Patient from Silvertree was a really well written one.  I could not stop turning the pages, and I cannot wait for the sequel to come out, I need to know what happens next.

~Other Information~

Publisher: Marian Dribus

Page Count: 223 pages

~Book Description (via Amazon)~

Lisa is a sixteen-year-old girl who lives in Silvertree, a town where an illegal medical experiment was conducted many years ago by a man named Peterson. Lisa’s parents are drifting apart: her father works long hours as a doctor, and her mother is stuck in the past. A dying woman arrives at Lisa’s house and demands to be treated with the drug Peterson invented. Lisa expects her father to refuse, but he agrees, and Lisa’s whole life is turned upside down. When an inquisitive stranger appears in Silvertree and starts asking questions, Lisa realizes her family is in danger. Desperate to protect her father, she finds herself keeping secrets from everyone except the boy of her dreams—but can he be trusted?

~Characters~

The Patient from Silvertree follows the story of Lisa and Josh, two teenagers from different families who are brought together by a frightening circumstance.  Josh’s mother comes to Lisa’s father with a predicament, one that endangers them all.

Lisa and Josh are your ordinary teenagers with imperfect families that seem to fall apart before their eyes.  They were well written and very realistic, which I absolutely loved.  Too often an author will write a ‘stereotypical’ teenager, but the problem with this is that it is not realistic to how teens actually are nowadays.  However, I did not have this problem with The Patient from Silvertree.

At first, I found it very hard to keep track of who the characters were, as many of them had similar names.  Though, this seems to be typical for mystery novels for whatever reason.  It became easier as I became better acquainted to the characters to separate them from each other, after all, they are all very unique.

~Writing and Setting~

Marian Dribus’ writing style is simplistic, however this allows the reader to better focus on the story.  Everything is perfectly described, but I found that the characters didn’t have solid descriptions of how they looked.  Normally, this would be a problem, but I actually enjoyed this because it let my imagination do the work for me.

Lisa and her family live in the small oceanside town of Silvertree.  Although, the setting isn’t really important to the story, and it is not clear when this novel takes place.

~Plot~

Oh my goodness.  The plot of The Patient from Silvertree is absolutely spectacular.  Marian Dribus has created a unique and intriguing mystery that made me keep turning the pages.  Within the first few pages, a huge problem is presented and from there it gets even crazier.  The novel was well paced, and I never felt bored at any time.

~Overall Review~

I am genuinely so excited for the sequel in this series, and I cannot wait to see where the author takes her characters.

1 Comment

Leave a Comment