City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare – Review

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare – Review

Rating: 5 out of 5.

~Quick Statistics~

Overall: 5/5 Stars

Plot: 4/5 Stars

Setting: 5/5 Stars

Characters: 4/5 Stars

Writing: 5/5 Stars

Memorability: 5/5 Stars

~Quick Review~

I was so ecstatic when I finally read the first novel in The Mortal Instruments series, City of Bones.  The story is well created and the world-building is amazing.  I also appreciated the little bit of LGBTQ+ representation in the novel.  I cannot wait to read the next novel in the series.

~Other Information~

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Page Count: 485 pages

~Book Description (via Goodreads)~

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

~Characters~

City of Bones follows Clary Fray and her journey into the Shadowhunter world where she meets Jace, Alec, Isabella, and Hodge who are all Shadowhunters or Nephilim. My favorite character was definitely Simon by far.  I found Jace too mysterious and rude, but I admit that he and Clary would be a good match had a specific issue not come up.  Which, by the way, I found the issue disgusting at the very least.

Anyways, as I mentioned before, I appreciated the LGBTQ+ rep in the novel.  I find Alec and Magnus Bane adorable together and I really hope that their relationship flourishes in the coming novels.

~Writing and Setting~

Cassandra Clare’s writing style is amazing.  The perfect amount of detail was displayed throughout the book, and really helped paint the Shadowhunter world in my mind.

Wow. The world-building is truly fantastic in this novel.  From the Shadowhunters to the warlocks, to the Clave, etc.  Everything was perfect and the world was splendidly created.

~Plot~

The plot itself was actually really well done, as was the pacing.  I was never bored during the City of Bones and found myself not wanted the novel to end.  As for the plot twist that entirely changed Clary and Jace’s relationship, well… I was not a fan.  It’s been seen before in movie series like Star Wars, but from things I’ve heard, it doesn’t have the same execution as The Mortal Instruments, which makes it frankly disturbing.

~Overall Review~

Regardless of the issues I had with the City of Bones, I really enjoyed the novel and it is for sure one of my favorites.  I cannot wait to read the second novel in the series, City of Ashes.  I highly recommend that you read the City of Bones if you are a Harry Potter fan!

Leave a Comment