A Call for Brighter Days (The Aeriel Chronicles #2) by Nupur Chowdhury – Review


57954227. sy475

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Thank you so much to Nupur Chowdhury for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

All quotes are taken from A Call for Brighter Days by Nupur Chowdhury.

// Content warning: death, violence, torture, mentions of sexual assault, mature content //



// Quick Statistics //

Overall: 5/5 Stars

Plot: 5/5 Stars

Characters: 5/5 Stars

Setting: 5/5 Stars

Writing: 5/5 Stars

Memorability: 5/5 Stars


// Quick Review //

A Call for Brighter Days is a magical return to the world of The Aeriel Chronicles. Following the beloved characters of A Flight of Broken Wings, I became entranced by the new problems Ruban and Ashwin have to face. I can only hope that Nupur Chowdhury continues writing her fantastic series.


…you expect me to keep your secret. To lie to my friends and betray my colleagues to do so. To risk their lives… For an Aeriel. An Aeriel who’s been lying to me – making a fool out of me – all this while.


// Other Information //

Publisher: Independently published

Page Count: 300 pages

Release Date: May 31, 2021

Series: The Aeriel Chronicles #2

Genre: Fiction, Fantasy, Urban fantasy, Science fiction, Mystery, Young adult, Thriller, Paranormal


// Book Description (via Goodreads) //

Tauheen is dead, and her followers have scattered. Some of them are now helping the vicious and deadly feather mafia hunt down their own kind.

Aeriels are being branded and killed, their wings hacked off and sold to the highest bidder on the black market.

But after a clash between the Aeriels and the mafia leaves hundreds of civilians dead, Ruban and his team must find a way to deal with this new, unfamiliar threat.

That might have been easier, if Ashwin wasn’t keeping secrets of his own – alternatingly fighting the mafia and protecting them.

As the bodies pile up and the line between ally and enemy gets further blurred, Ruban must make choices and sacrifices that will shape the lives of those he loves, as well as the world around them.


// Characters //

As with A Flight of Broken Wings, A Call for Brighter Days follows the new troubles of Ruban and Ashwin, the hilarious duo that makes The Aeriel Chronicles a mixture of tension, drama, and fun.

However, the novel also introduces new characters and villains that will send shivers down your spine. Instead of having to face Tauheen, the evil Queen of the Aeriel Exiles, the duo has to face Janak Nath, the leader of the Qawirsin. Which, the Qawirsin are a gang involved with the feather mafia, which profits off the illegal selling of Aeriel feathers. And even more perilous, the two discover the existence of Kaheen, an Aeriel out for revenge.

I loved how this novel discusses the relationship between Ashwin and Hiya (Ruban’s niece). Ashwin is essentially her uncle, and I loved how he became closer with Simani (Ruban’s partner) and Vikram’s son, Sri.

Speaking of Vikram, I have to say that since he was featured more in A Call of Brighter Days, I was able to learn more about him and he is now one of my favorite characters (besides Ashwin). Not only is he adorable and a good husband to Sim, but he also fangirls constantly over Aeriels. What a nerd. I say as if I wasn’t eating up all the new information on Aeriels too.


There was a time when I needed you… That time is long gone. I don’t need your charity. The only thing I need from you now, is vengeance.


// Writing and Setting //

As always, Nupur Chowdhury’s writing sucked me in like a whirlpool. The time practically flew while I read, because all I could see was the world of The Aeriel Chronicles in front of me.

I am very happy to report that Chowdhury’s world-building only gets better. She did not hesitate to give the reader even more information about the mystical yet modern world that Ruban and Ashwin navigate.


Now there was a sight he had never thought he’d see. Exiles working with humans to hunt down their own kind.


// Plot //

As I mentioned, instead of fighting Tauheen, this time Ruban and Ashwin must hunt down gangs involved with illegal Aeriel feather trading and break down the collaboration between Exiles and humans to prevent the crashing of economies in the Mortal Realm.

The events also affect Ashwin and Ruban’s relationship, not to mention Ruban and Simani’s relationship (wow). In the high-stress situation the group finds themselves in, there is constant bickering and sass (I loved it).

This is completely random, but for some reason I imagine the characters and story as basically a fantasy Scooby Doo. Take that as you will.


He was probably minutes away from death. And yet, somehow, he hadn’t felt so alive in a long time.


// Overall Review //

I cannot wait for Nupur Chowdhury’s future novels, and hopefully more of The Aeriel Chronicles. I’m dying over here, I have no patience whatsoever.

Overall, I absolutely loved A Call for Brighter Days; it is the perfect continuation of Chowdhury’s excellent series.


It’d been a long time since he’d dared hope for anything so glorious. Tomorrow would bring it’s own problems. But he was going to relish this – this moment – for all he was worth.


Be featured in my upcoming Q&A episode! Fill out the Google Form here, or submit a voice message here!


Happy reading!

– Maya ❤


BOOK LINKS


WHERE TO FIND ME


Leave a Comment